ASEAN – the Association of Southeast Asian Nations – was formed in 1967 and comprises 10 Asian countries as an economic trade bloc. It includes Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. Collectively, ASEAN represents a market of some 600 million people, with a combined GDP of about US$1.8 trillion. If it were a country, in economic terms it would be the ninth largest in the world. Effectively a trade bloc situated between China and India, ASEAN is the third Asian dragon in terms of its development as an emerging economy.

ASEAN has entered into a number of free trade and double tax agreements with other free trade regions and countries around the world, as have its own members states. Important among these are agreements with China., India, Australia, New Zealand, Japan and South Korea, some still under negotiation that are creating an entire free trade zone of the Asian region as a whole. Understanding how to benefit from these agreements means referring to the respective treaties that are in place – this website aims to provide all treaties entered into between ASEAN, its member states and other countries.

Even though a parent company may not be domiciled in ASEAN – qualification for taking part in this massive free trade area is simple – all one needs to do is to establish a company in the region. Singapore has developed as a financial and services hub for ASEAN, and with its own low rate rates and high levels of corporate governance remains an excellent hub from which to branch out to the rest of Asia and beyond.

News concerning updates of treaties, developments between ASEAN, its member states and other countries will regularly appear on the news section of this website.